26th National Convention of Agricultural Engineers

agdb 2

The Udaipur Local Centre of the Institution in association with College of Technology & Engineering (CTAE), Maharana Pratap University of Agriculture and Technology (MPUAT), Udaipur organized the Twenty-sixth National Convention of Agricultural Engineers during February 15-16, 2013, at Udaipur. The Chief Guest, Dr Om Prakash Gill, Vice Chancellor, MPUAT, Udaipur inaugurated the Convention by lighting the lamps along with other dignitaries present on the occasion. Dr Gill congratulated the Centre for selecting such an interesting topic for deliberation. Further, he emphasized on food security problems in the country and requested the upcoming agricultural engineers to go with the more research work on this arena. Dr Gill also highlighted on the mechanisation strategies of agricultural sectors more appropriately. Dr N C Patel, Vice Chancellor, Junagarh University, Gujarat was the Guest-of-Honour on this occasion. Dr Patel mainly stressed upon the modern monitoring strategies on seed rate in the agricultural sectors and also drawn attention to the applications of latest technologies like possibilities of using robotics techniques in agricultural machineries for the purpose of irrigation. Mr D V Nagabhushan, Chairman, Agricultural Engineering Division Board of the Institution presided over the inaugural session. In his address, Mr Nagabhushan spoke about the crop plant management implementation, where precision agriculture has to be taken care of. Dr N S Rathore, Dean, CTAE, MPUAT, Udaipur described how the artificial intelligence can be implemented in agricultural sectors for getting high accuracy. Even, he also stressed on the microprocessors based approach towards precision agriculture, especially in the area of harvesting. Earlier, Dr Y C Bhatt, Chairman of the Centre, delivered the welcome address and in his address he focused on the possibility of utilising the GIS technology for sustainable food production with the help of precision agriculture. Dr Deepak Sharma, Organising Secretary of the function elaborated the theme. Dr C R Mehta, Project Coordinator, Farm Implements and Machinery, Central Institute of Agricultural Engineering, Bhopal, delivered the “Rathindra Nath Tagore” Memorial Lecture on the topic. On this occasion seven Eminent Engineering personalities namely, Dr N C Patel, Dr T C Thakur, ICAR National Professor, Department of Farm Power Machinery & Power Engineering, College of Technology, G B Pant University of Agriculture & Technology, Pantnagar, Uttarakhand (in absentia), Prof R C Purohit, Department of Soil & Water Engineering Department, CTAE, MPUAT, Udaipur, Dr N S Rathore, Dr Y C Bhatt, Project Incharge (FIM), Department of Farm Machinery & Power, CTAE, MPUAT, Udaipur, Mr Madan Chhajed, Executive Engineer, Water Shed Development & Soil Conservation, Govt. of Rajasthan, Udaipur and Dr C R Mehta were felicitated in recognition of their eminence and contribution to the profession of Agricultural Engineering. The IEI Young Engineers Award in Agricultural Engineering discipline for the year 2012-13 was presented to Mr Sanwal Singh Meena, Assistant Professor, Department of Farm Machinery & Power Engineering, CTAE, MPUAT, Udaipur, Dr R Thiyagarajan, Assistant Professor, Department of Farm Machinery & Bio-energy Agricultural Engineering College and Research Institute, Tamilnadu Agricultural University, Trichy and Mr Sandip Mandal, Scientist, Division of Agricultural Engineering, ICAR Research Complex for North Eastern Hill Region, Meghalaya. Mr Syed Irshad Ali, Honorary Secretary of the Centre proposed the Vote of Thanks. A National Seminar on the theme ‘Precision Agriculture for Sustainable Food Production’ was also organized concurrently as a part of the Convention wherein papers on various sub-themes were presented by delegates from academia as well as industry during the various technical sessions.