Twenty-eighth National Convention of Environmental Engineers


Bihar State Centre of IEI organized the 28th National Convention of Environmental Engineers during March 9-10, 2013 at Patna. The Chief Guest, Mr Uday Narain Choudhary, Hon’ble Speaker, Bihar Legislative Assembly inaugurated the Convention by lighting the lamps along with other dignitaries present on the occasion. Mr Choudhary congratulated the Centre for selecting such an illuminating topic for this occasion. He highlighted about the proper sanitation in the society and a brief on strategic plan of action based on which Govt. or NGO or any other private sectors can work. Further, he stressed on the waste management in healthcare systems. Mr J C Singhal, Chairman, ENDB of the Institution presided over the inaugural session. In his address, Mr Singhal spoke about the background of various technical activities on environmental engineering under the Institution and also he highlighted about the necessity of proper healthcare system in India using waste management methodologies. Earlier, Mr J K Dutta, Chairman of the Centre, delivered the welcome address and in his address he focused on the controlling processes of hazardous wastes in various urban, sub-urban as well as rural parts of the country. Dr Arun Kumar Shrivastava, Convenor, Technical Committee and Council Member of the Institution during this occasion chaired the inaugural Session and gave a brief introduction about the theme of the Convention. He further talked about the affects of hazardous wastes towards human health and its impact to the society. Dr Shrivastava has also given emphasize on the traditional methods of using plastics, toxic materials and other related substances & their poor impact to the environment. On this occasion four Eminent Engineering personalities namely, Prof Md Jawed, Dept of Civil Engg, IIT, Guwahati, Mr Paritosh C Tyagi, Former Chairman, CPCB, Mr Anil Kumar Sharma, Chief Engineer, Chhatisgarh Environment Conservation Board and Prof S C Prasad, Dept of Civil Engg, MNNIT, Allahabad (in absentia) were felicitated in recognition of their eminence and contribution to the profession of Environmental Engg. Mr Tyagi spoke about the household hazardous materials to the environment and suggested on the recycling options on these used substances. Prof (Dr) Arun Kumar, Director, Indira Gandhi Institute of Medical Sciences, Patna has given the State-of-the Art Lecture on the theme and briefed about the Constitutional Act of protecting environment. The prestigious “N V Modak Memorial Lecture” was delivered by Prof R C Sinha, Former Chairman, BSPCB on the topic, “Waste Management with Special Reference to Biomedical Waste”. The “IEI Young Engineers Award” in Environmental Engg discipline for the year 2012-13 was presented to Dr Vimal Chandra Shrivastava, Assistant Professor, Dept of Chemical Engg, IIT, Roorkee. Mr B K Sahay, Honorary Secretary of the Centre proposed the Vote of Thanks. A National Seminar on the theme ‘Hazardous Waste Management and Healthcare in India’ was also organized concurrently as a part of the Convention.